Capital towns expected to lead economic development in each region- President Granger



The new town councils have been installed and the new mayors and their deputies elected and now Head of State, President David Granger is reminding these officials of their duty to their office and country.

A statement from the Ministry of the Presidency this evening says President Granger in congratulating the new mayors and deputy mayors has pointed out that the responsibility is now on them “to lead economic development in each region by encouraging infrastructure extension, investment, information and communications technology and innovation”.

According to the President it is the expectation that these new capital towns will be better equipped to “attract investment, promote business and drive the economic development of the country’s ten regions”.

The new mayors and deputies are Anna Regiona; Rabindranath Mohan and Darshan Persaud, Bartica; Gifford Marshall and Nageshwarie ‘Kamal’ Persaud, Corriverton; Ganesh Gangadin and Jaichand Krishand, Georgetown; Patricia Chase-Green and Sherod Duncan, Lethem; Carlton Beckles and Maxine-Ann Welch, Linden; Carwyn Holland and Waneka Arrindell, New Amsterdam; Kurt Wynter and Winifred Haywood and Rosehall; Vijay Kumar Ramoo and Dave Budhoo.

These community leaders were elected at the local government elections which were held on March 18, last after not being held since 1994.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.