Michael Anthony retains Powerade ‘feature showdown’ title


By Avenash Ramzan


Another race, another win for Team Gillette Evolution! That was basically how the script went on Saturday as Michael Anthony retained his Banks DIH sixth annual Powerade 11-race programme at the inner circuit of the National Park.


Close finish! Michael Anthony is inches ahead of Jeban Crawford as they prepare to cross the finish line on a wet Saturday afternoon in the city.


Organised by the national cycling coach, Hassan Mohamed, the day’s activities started in brilliant sunshine, but culminated with the riders drenched by a sudden shower.


By this time though, Linden’s Michael Anthony had done enough to further strengthen Team Gillette Evolution’s claim to being undoubtedly the best team in the country at the moment.


Competing the gruelling 35-lap School Boys and Invitational race, which was contested in a mixture of hot sun and heavy downpour, Anthony produced a brilliant performance to win in a time of one hour, 19 minutes, 25.57 seconds (01h: 19m: 25.57s).


Anthony had won the title last year, when he finished in a time of  hour, 15 minutes, 03 seconds (01h: 15m: 03s).

Powerade winners 2016
The top performers strike a pose with their winnings on Saturday (Photos by Avenash Ramzan)

Anthony was part of a chasing pack that had found itself a considerable distance from the peloton, but as the race wore on, the gap closed in, setting up a fantastic finish.


Anthony and his Team Gillette Evolution teammates Orville Hinds and Marlon “Fishy” Williams had worked in a tandem in a seven-man chasing pack, and once they connected with the peloton with two laps to go, it was anyone’s race.


In the end, it was Anthony who had enough in the tank to cross the line first in a heated sprint. Jeban Crawford of Berbice had to settle for second spot, followed by Paul DeNobrega, Stephen Fernandes, Raphael Leung and Jaikarran Sookhai in that order.


Other winners of the day included Whitney Poyer (Boys and Girls 12-14), John Niles (BMX 6-9), Jeremiah Harrison (BMX 9-12), Adelia Hodge (BMX 12-14), Junior Niles (Veteran Under-50), Bochel Samaroo (Veteran Over-50), Monty Parris (Veteran Over-60), Romello Crawford (Juveniles) and Shane Bourne (Mountain Bike).


Speaking at the presentation ceremony, Mohamed thanked the riders for participating, as well as Banks DIH Limited for once again sponsoring the race. He noted that the company had invested in a similar programme- a road race- earlier this year, while the entity will sponsor another race later this year, this time under the Malta Supreme brand.


Representing Banks DIH Limited was Errol Nelson, who promised that the establishment will continue to throw in support behind sport in general, and cycling in particular.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.