Shabazz makes changes to Golden Jaguars roster … Anthony Abrams, Richie Richards joins team


By Rawle Toney in Miami


An injury to Anthoy Whyte, the Golden Jaguars first choice goalkeeper, along with a no-show by Captain Christopher Nurse, has forced Jamaal Shabazz to make some late adjustment to his roster ahead on Wednesday’s clash against Curacao.


The game will the Jaguars’ first in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Caribbean Cup second round, to be played at the the Ergilio Hato Stadium from 20:00hrs.


Alpha United’s Richie Richards will join his club teammate Alex Murray as the goalkeepers on the team, while veteran striker Anthony ‘Awo’ Abrams will replace Nurse.


Guyana arrived on the Dutch Island on May 27, as Shabazz flew in early to get the much needed practice time since in Guyana, the team struggled to finding a proper training facility.


In fact, Guyana was forced to play their home game in Curacao after not being able to use to the Guyana National Stadium due to the hosting of the Tri-Nation series between the West Indies, South Africa and Australia.


Meanwhile,  Jake Newton, Emery Welshman and Ricky Shakes will make their ‘Golden Jaguars’ return after being named in Head Coach Jamaal Shabazz’s team that will play Curacao and the United States Virgin Islands (USVI).



On June 4, Guyana will then travel to St Thomas and face the USVI at the Adelita Cancryn Playing Field, as Shabazz hopes to finish as one of the top two teams who will then advance to the next round.


Notable omission from the squad was midfield maestro Neil Danns and forward Gregory ‘Jackie Chan’ Richardson; both of whom who had played in the two previous games.


While the reason for Danns’ omission is not known, Richardson was ineligible for selection after being banned from all football by the Guyana Football Federation (GFF).


However, Shabazz recalled veteran and Brendon Wood FC’s forward Ricky Shakes, along with Jake Newton, Brandon Beresford (Seattle Saunders 2), Real Salt Lake’s Emery Welshman, and Caledonia AIA duo Pernell Schultz and Sheldon Holder.


For Newton, it will mean a return to the Golden Jaguars for the first time since 2012. Shakes is recalled, also for the first time since Guyana’s exist from the 2018 World Cup Qualifiers last year.


Guyana is so far undefeated in their CFU campaign, following wins over Puerto Rico (1 – 0) and Anguilla (7 – 0) while Curacao will be entering the second round only losing once (0 – 1 to Barbados), while picking up a 2 – 1 win over the Dominican Republic.


Round three of the Championship will begin in October 3-11; Fifth Place Playoff November 7-15 and the finals are scheduled for May 2017.


Guyana’s squad for CFU Caribbean Cup, Round two:


Alex Andrew Murray, Jake Newton, Solomon Austin, Colin Nelson, Kester Jacobs, Eon Alleyne, Ricky Shakes, Emery Welshman, Devon Millington, Daniel Wilson, Dwight Peters, Quincy Adams, Brandon Beresford, Pernel Schultz, Sheldon Holder, Walter Moore, Samuel Cox, Anthony Abrams, Richie Richards and Trayon Bobb.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.