GABF names National U16 Men and Women teams for CBC Caribbean Championships


After several weeks of training and evaluation of the nation’s top under-16 prospects, the Guyana Amateur Basketball Federation (GABF) today announced the names of the final 12 men and 13 women who will represent Guyana at the CBC U-16 Caribbean Championships.


The final 12 women will be announced prior to the “Congress of Delegate” just before the men Championships tip-off on July 3, 2016.


Jordan Alphonso
Jordan Alphonso

The 12 men selected: Kevon Wiggins, Kelmar Carmichael (New Amsterdam Multilateral), Shamar France, Jermaine King (Berbice High), Andrew Johnson, Nigel Bowen (Plaisance Secondary),Roydon Glasgow (Bishops’ High), Akeem Crandon, Kareem Boyle (President’s College), Jordan Alphonso  Jahleel Young (Marian Academy), and Zion Gray (Tutorial High).


The 13 women selected: Annalesa Barker (New Amsterdam Multilateral), Saffiya Greene (Berbice High), Daniella King (Plaisance Secondary), Kesann Charles, Jayla Jones (Bishops’ High), Onika Rogers (Kwakwani Secondary), Demelza Nicholas and Annalisa Barclay (President’s College), Jada Mohan, Georgianna Vyphuis, KellianSauers, Jahrier Young (Marian Academy), Rashida Hinds (United States).

Jada Mohan
Jada Mohan


The men team suffered a major setback with the omission of Yonnick Tappin, the talented sharp shooter from the mining town of Linden, who sustained an injury to the leg and would be out for three weeks.


Both teams will now be encamped for the remainder of the time leading up to their respective tournaments.


Several competitive exhibition games are planned for this period. These games will be open to the public.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.