Local cyclists bracing for busy weekend



By Avenash Ramzan


Fresh off consecutive weekends of rigorous riding in the Guyana Cycling Federation’s National Championship, local riders will be going hard again this weekend, with national coach Hassan Mohamed staging back-to-back events.


First up on Saturday will be the sixth annual Malta Supreme 11-race programme at the inner circuit of the National Park, commencing at 09:00h.


The day’s activity is expected to be well attended with the country seasoned riders, as well as up and coming talents set to once again showcase their skills.


As is the norm with races at the National Park, the highlight would be the gruelling 35-lap School Boys and Invitational, which is set to be the final event of the day.


New Elite Road Race champion Geron Williams and runner-up Raynauth Jeffrey, along with the likes of this year’s top rider Orville Hinds, Michael Anthony, Marlon Williams, Raul Leal and Paul DeNobrega among others are slated to face the starting line on Saturday.


Hinds of Team Gillette Evolution is the defending champion, having won last year’s race in a time of one hour, 19 minutes, 49.90 seconds.


Other winners from 2015 were Jamal John (Juveniles), Ralph Williams (Veterans U-50), Sean Budhan (Mountain Bikes) and Daniel Perriera (12-14 Boys and Girls).


Representatives of Malta Supreme, including Banks DIH Limited’s Non-Alcoholic Brand Manager, Clayton McKenzie, will be on hand to witness the races and later assist in the presentation of prizes.


Meanwhile, on Sunday the riders will switch focus to the West Demerara roadway, which is the course for the Dr Chase and Seven Seas seventh annual road race.


The race will pedal off at 08:00h from outside the Wales Police Station, head to Uitvlugt and return to the Demerara Harbour Bridge for the finish.


During the race course, the riders will turn West into the Parfaite Harmonie access road from the Schoonord public road, turn at the junction of the access road and return to the public road to continue to journey to Uitvlugt.


The defending champion is Shaquille Agard, who won last year’s race in one hour, 53 minutes, 57.02 seconds. Andrew Hicks (Juniors), Junior Niles (Veterans U-50) and Sean Budhan (Mountain Bikes) were also successful in their respective categories.


Dr Chase and Seven Seas representatives Nirvana Thakur and Karen Cornell will be at the finish line to distribute the prizes and address the gathering.


Both events are being organised by Mohamed, in collaboration with the Carlton Wheelers Cycle Club.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.