Three Guyanese in West Indies squad to face India


Three Guyanese have been included in the West Indies 12-man squad to face India in four Test matches. Leon Johnson, who topped the WICB PCL Four-day batting charts, has been included, as well as opener Rajendra Chandrika and leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo.


Devendra Bishoo
Devendra Bishoo

Roston Chase, an uncapped middle-order batsman who can be handy with his off-spin, has been given a call-up as well. Wicketkeeper and former captain Denesh Ramdin has been left out, in keeping with what he had tweeted last week.


There is no place for experienced quicks Kemar Roach and Jerome Taylor after their poor showing in West Indies’ previous Test assignment, the series in Australia last December.


Rajendra Chandrika
Rajendra Chandrika

Squad: Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Shane Dorwich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson, Marlon Samuels.



Cover photo caption: Leon Johnson


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.