Three Guyanese in WI Blind squad for World T20


Three Guyanese have been selected as part of the West Indies Cricket Council for the Blind and Visually Impaired (WICCBVI) 20-member squad to compete at next year’s World T20 Blind competition in India.


The squad was selected last night after the selectors reviewed the performances of the players in the WICCBVI Regional T20 tournament, which will wrap up today with the final between host Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica. Guyana and Barbados were the other competing teams.


Those from Guyana who gained the selectors’ nod were Leroy Phillips (B1), Ganesh Singh (B1) and Kevin Douglas (B3).


The squad will further be trimmed to 17 players, who will travel as the Caribbean’s representatives at the World T20 in India from January 28 to February 14, 2017.


The squad is: B1- Leroy Phillips (Guy), Jason Rickets (Jam), Michael Durham (T&T), Anthony Cummings (Bar), Matthew Rodrigues (T&T), Ganesh Singh (Guy) and Marlon Cole (Jam); B2- Gregory Stewart (Jam), Ricardo Manning (Bar), Caneel Graham (Jam), Alvin James (Jam), KC Warde Ryan (Bar) and Mark Goddard (Bar); and B3- Rodney Ramrattan (T&T), Dennol Shim (Jam), Loshane Myles (Jam), Kevin Douglas (Guy), Jennyson Pooyah (T&T), Halden Forde (Bar) and Mark Sweeney (Jam).


In sport, B1, B2 and B3 are the categories of blindness, ranging from completely blind to limited vision.



Cover photo caption: West Indies selectees! From left: Leroy Phillips, Kevin Douglas and Ganesh Singh

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.