Shepherd replaces Hooper in Jaguars squad


After thumping Jamaica Scorpions in the opening round of the WICB PCL 4-Day 2016/17, defending champions, Guyana Jaguars, departed today to hunt glory in the Leeward and Windward Islands.

Jaguars would take on Leeward Islands Hurricanes from November 18-21 at Warner Park before moving to the Darren Sammy Cricket Ground to face the Windward Islands Volcanoes from November 25-28. Thereafter, they return home to challenge Barbados Pride in a day/night encounter.

The defending champs overcame a frustrating evening session after rain accounted for more than a session play on the final day to hand Scorpions a 181-run defeat. It was the 18th time the Guyanese have gone undefeated since the 2013/2014 season. All the key batsmen and bowlers excelled and looked in top form.

Romario Shepherd
Romario Shepherd

Meanwhile, Jaguars have opted for a paceman instead of a spinner for the two overseas games. Hence, the very impressive Romario Shepherd replaces Eon Hooper.

Hooper had replaced Devendra Bishoo who was called up for West Indies Tri-series against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. The off-spinner went wicket-less against the Scorpions, but bowled economical and showed good signs for the future.

The full squad reads: Rajendra Chandrika, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Shimron Hetmyer, Leon Johnson (Captain), Vishaul Singh (Vice-captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Veerasammy Permaul, Romario Shepherd, Gudakesh Motie, Keon Joseph and Christopher Barnwell.

The officials are Esaun Crandon (Coach), Rayon Griffith (Assistant Coach/Manager) and Ernesto Campo Gonzalez (Physio).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.