Nagamootoo declines nomination for leadership posts


The sitting Prime Minister in a statement today says he will not contest the Alliance For Change (AFC) election as Leader, Chairman or Vice-Chairman tomorrow (Saturday, January 27, 2017).

It was previously announced by the party that Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo and Ministers Khemraj Ramjattan and Raphael Trotman will be contending the post.

However, in Friday’s statement, Nagamootoo said “I will not contest for election (but will) accept nomination for the National Executive Committee (NEC), and will serve on this body if elected.” This he said is geared at making political space in party leadership for a new generation of leaders.

He added that his decision was communicated to leaders of the party two weeks ago.

Nagamootoo also refuted claims that he is entirely quitting the AFC, noting that “I am just shedding party leadership titles and status.”

The statement quoted him as saying “I am fully involved in the AFC. I want to see the party grow and become stronger. I want the party to reform and broaden its structure to bring on board the young generation of fighters, the so-called “Second Eleven” as we gear for 2020.”

His withdrawal from the contest left Ministers, Ramjattan and Trotman to contest the position of Leader. The duo will also be contesting the position of Vice Chair with Minister, Catherine Hughes.

Nagamootoo says he spent 52 years in active party-based politics and served in senior leadership positions in the PPP since 1976 and Vice-Chairman of the AFC since 2012.

The Alliance For Change (AFC) will be hosting its National Conference on for Saturday January 28th at the Vreed-en-Hoop Primary School, West Bank Demerara, Region 3, during which its elections will be held.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.