No elections at GCB’s AGM


By Avenash Ramzan

The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) on Sunday hosted its Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Chetram Singh Centre of Excellence at La Bonne Intention, East Coast Demerara, but there was no election of office bearers for the new term. All members were returned unopposed owing to the Ordinary General Meeting (OGM) of October 2016.

The AGM on Sunday was closed-door, but executives of the board engaged the media at a subsequent press conference to report on what transpired.

“We had our AGM today (Sunday), and today’s (Sunday’s) meeting went very well. In fact, surprisingly, and what is good for cricket, is that there was an entourage that came down from Berbice that amounted to 13 representatives from Berbice, most of them representing First Division clubs in Berbice…some of them are executives, but came in the capacity as representative of their clubs,” Secretary of the GCB, Anand Sanasie, explained.

He added, “We listened to their issues and so on, and they have pledged to resolved issues in the Berbice area, some of them that has nothing to do with the GCB, but two of which address the issue of their attendance, two meetings and fulfilling the obligations to the GCB as a member.”

Sanasie further stated that representatives of the two county boards, Demerara and Essequibo, were present with the full amount of delegates.

“A motion that came from the OGM as it relates to nominations for the position of the executive committee of the GCB was presented as was done on the 23rd of October, as required by the constitution of the GCB. That motion was accepted, but because of a pending court matter in which a number of plaintiffs, including the GCB have challenge the Cricket Administration Act, and certain aspect of the constitutionality of it in which they expressed their concerns and made statements of claim against, it was ruled that they could be no elections of the bodies under the act, and the Guyana Cricket Board is one such body, so as a result the election process was not proceeded with,” Sanasie divulged.

He continued, “The motion before the AGM clearly indicated that there was only one nomination for each of the positions and at that stage it was entered into the minutes and that nominations stands until such time we can complete the process of elections.”

Those nominated for posts at last October’s OGM were Drubahadur (President), Fizul Bacchus (Vice-president), Anand Sanasie (Secretary), Virendra Chintamanie (Assistant Secretary), Anand Kalladeen (Treasurer), Rajendra Singh (Marketing Manager), Colin Europe (Competitions Chairman), Rayon Griffith (Chairman of National Selectors) and Nazimul Drepaul (Junior Selector).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.