U-15 INTER-COUNTY: Dave West Indian Imports renews sponsorship


Dave West Indian Imports has renewed its sponsorship contract for the 2017 edition of the Under-15 Male Inter-County. The official launch of this prestigious competition was held on Friday at the Guyana Cricket Board’s (GCB) office, Regent Road, Bourda.

This is the second consecutive year Dave West Indian Imports is on board with the GCB for this competition, which will feature four teams; namely, the three county teams- Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo, along with the GCB President’s XI team. After the completion of the tournament, a ‘select national Under-15’ team will compete in the Under-17 Inter-County.

Secretary of the GCB, Anand Sanasie, pointed out that the decision to play a select team in an older age group Inter-ounty has been successful and serves as excellent preparation for regional tournaments. He thanked Dave West Indian Imports for partnering with the GCB again and trusts that the company continues to contribute valuably to this critical Under-15 development category.

Chairman of the Competition Committee, Colin Europe, explained the points system. Six points would be awarded for a win, two points for a washed out or abandoned match, and 0.1 point for each fast bowling wicket.

Cliff Joseph from Dave West Indian Imports expressed his satisfaction with the outstanding hosting and performance of last year’s Inter-County. He also praised the national Under-15 cricketers for their excellent showing in the regional competition, which they placed second in last year after they held first in the previous two years.

He indicated that Dave West Indian Imports is pleased to be associated with the GCB in helping to develop the Under-15s, who are among the youngest talents in the country, noting that with proper guidance they will go a far way. He stated that Dave West Indian Imports believes highly in the youngsters’ talent and potential and have every confidence that they would once again excel at the regional level this year.

Weather permitting, the competition will bowl off on Tuesday, March 14, with the second round on Wednesday March 15; third round on Friday March 17 and the final on Sunday March 19.

The teams are:

DEMERARA: Shoib Shaw, Mahindra Dindyal, Chad Shivrattan, Edmond Pearson, Andre Seepersaud, Daniel Mootoo, Mark Ramanand , Chandrapaul Ramraj, Trevon Charles, Negusa Walters, Devanand Khemraj, Ryan Persaud, Ushardev Balgobin, and Brandon Jaikarran. The Manager is Latchman Yadram and the Coach is Dhanpaul.

BERBICE: Sarwan Chaitnarine, Daniel Dharamdat, Ricardo Ramdial, Reyad Karim, Vikash Subramani, Marvan Prashad, Anthony Williams, Farouk Subhan, Andel Milne, Abdur Ramsammy, Akash Heralall, Saif Amoi, Romel Retimyah and Gourav Ramesh. The Manager is Asif Japaul and the Coach is Kwesi Maltay.

ESSEQUIBO: Sheldon Charles, Devindra Ramdahin, Oren Gibson, Ronaldo Scouten, Raphael David, Manoj Dasraat, Chaitram Seurattan, Wasim Mohamed, Ardesh Ramdial, Mark Mohabir, Sunil Persaud, Inzamam Bacchus, Shawn Monro, and Tyrone Brandon. The Manager is Vickram Ramnarine and the Coach is Forbes Daniels.  

GCB PRESIDENT’S XI: Elnathan Suknandan, Shammar Yearwood, Joel Gilkes, Zachariah Mootoo, Alex Arinda, Sai Haniff, Raynaldo Mohamed, Yadesh Persaud, Ronaldo Duraws, Zamal Ramsammy, Ezana Saaziam, Pravenand Ganesh, Ken George, Danny Atkinson, and Tamone Ceasar. The Manager is Reon King and the Coach is Orin Bailey.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.