Rupununi League gives equal platform to Women’s Football


The Rupununi Football Association (RFA) is embracing gender equality in its football competitions through double-header match days for its 2017 Champions League that give equal prominence to Men’s and Women’s Football. 

The League, which began earlier this month, is split into sub-regions across the Rupununi with 15 out of 16 clubs fielding both Men’s and Women’s teams as standard for matches in Region Nine. 

The sub-regions fielding teams are: Central Rupununi – five; East Central Rupununi – four; North Rupununi – three; and Deep South Rupununi, South Central Rupununi, and South Pakariamas each fielding one team. History has also been created with a team from Mahdia in Region Eight competing for the first time. 

“Our aim is to capture the entire Rupununi,” said RFA President Ken Grant. “We want the whole of the Rupununi to play organised and structured football, for both men and women.”  

On Saturday last, at Snatchers ground in the Central Rupununi Division, Gladiators Women’s team beat Snatchers 2-1 and Gladiators Men’s team overcame Snatchers 4-2.  Last weekend, Paiwomak and St. Ignatius Women’s side were also competing in the finals of the National Women’s Development League in Georgetown.  

The teams finished second and third respectively in the inaugural season of the league, underlining the strength and future potential of Women’s Football in the Rupununi. St. Ignatius will take on Tabatinga on March 18 as the Central Division continues.  

The East Central Division will get up and running on March 19, with Flash F.C. taking on Kanuku Harpies and Kanuku Warriors coming up against United Warriors in Nappi.  

Below is a list of the 16 teams competing for the title, including newcomers Mahdia Gold Getters from Region Eight.  

1. Titans United FC (Deep South Rupununi)

2. Shiriri FC (South Central Rupununi)

3. St Ignatius Sports Club (Central Rupununi)

4. Tabatinga FC (Central Rupununi)

5. Gladiators FC (Central Rupununi)

6. Snatchers FC (Central Rupununi) 

7. Kanuku Rockers FC (Central Rupununi)

8. Flash FC (East Central Rupununi)

9. Kanuku Warriors FC (East Central Rupununi)

10. Kanuku Harpies FC  (East Central Rupununi)

11. United Warriors FC  (East Central Rupununi)

12. Paiwomak Warriors FC (North Rupununi)

13. Surama FC  (North Rupununi)

14. FC Strikers  (North Rupununi)

15. Sun Parakeets FC  (South Pakaraimas)

16. Mahdia Gold Getters FC  (Region 8)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.