Khan included to face West Indies in Tests


Eighteen-year-old Shadab Khan has broken into the Pakistan Test squad, 10 days after making his T20 international debut. Misbah-ul-Haq was named captain, as expected, for the three Tests in the West Indies starting April 21 in Kingston.

Four other uncapped Test players, apart from Shadab, were included in the squad – Usman Salahuddin, Hasan Ali, Mohammed Abbas and Mohammad Asghar – while Ahmed Shehzad and Shan Masood returned to the side.

As many as seven players out of the 17 that toured Australia in December-January didn’t find a place this time: Sharjeel Khan, Sohail Khan, Sami Aslam, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Nawaz and Imran Khan.

“The Test team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions in West Indies and the recent performances of players during the domestic and international season,” chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said. “The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and believe that team will do well in the tour.”

While Shadab foxed the West Indies batsmen in all four T20Is recently, Salahuddin was picked to strengthen the middle order, and Abbas and Hasan beefed up the pace attack that also comprised Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz. The spin attack would consist of Yasir Shah and the uncapped left-arm spinner Mohammad Asghar, who toured Australia as back-up for Yasir.

Shehzad last played a Test on the tour of Sri Lanka in 2015 and was not part of the national side since the World T20 due to disciplinary issues. He returned to the T20I and ODI sides recently, picked for the ongoing West Indies tour. Masood, on the other hand, last played a Test last July against England. He has been among the runs recently in domestic one-day matches in Pakistan, for United Bank Limited in the Departmental One Day Cup and for Islamabad in the Regional One Day Cup.

Pakistan Test squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk & vice-capt), Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas (ESPNCricinfo)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.