Prospective ‘Lady Jags’ encamped in New Amsterdam


Twenty-five of the most talented national female football players have been called to a five-day camp in New Amsterdam in preparation for the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Women’s Caribbean Cup scheduled for May 24-28. 

This is the first time since the new Executive has been at the helm of football administration in Guyana that the female national team will participate in the CFU Women’s Caribbean Cup and speaks to the renewed focus of the new administration to women’s football development in Guyana.

The players, selected via the Guyana Football Federation’s (GFF) Technical Development programme, include those from Linden, Berbice, Rupununi, West Demerara and Georgetown. All of the players were also part of the recently concluded inaugural Women’s Development League.   

This is the first of two camps for the team, commonly referred to as ‘Lady Jags.’ The group of players features two goalkeepers, eight defenders, seven midfielders and eight forwards from the following Member Associations – Georgetown 10, West Demerara five, Berbice one, Upper Demerara three and Rupununi six.

The second camp, scheduled for May 12-22, will include overseas-based players following which the squad will be announced. Encampment for the ‘Lady Jags’ is managed by Head Coach designate and Technical Development Officer, Akilah Castello, assisted by recently-appointed GFF’s Women’s Development Officer, Trisha Munroe.

This initial camp, which began on the April 24, will seek to introduce the new national playing philosophy as implemented by the GFF Technical Department and will cover a range of technical areas of assessment.   

The players are: Ruth George (Goalkeeper- Fruta Conquerors), Nataile Nedd (Goalkeeper- Fruta Conquerors), Anastacia Horsham (Defender- Fruta Conquerors), Keshauna McRae (Defender- Foxy Ladies), Rebekah Nurse (Defender- West Side Conquerors), Ronecia Lewis (Defender- Demerara Queens), Odessa Romeo (Defender- GDF), Collette Hope (Defender- Fruta Conquerors), Ameka Semple  (Defender- Saints Sports Club), Jillian Hawker (Defender- Paiwomak Warriors), Terryka Joseph (Midfielder- Fruta Conquerors), Lakeisha Pearson (Midfielder- Fruta Conquerors), Siacy Adams (Midfielder- Foxy Ladies), Tiandi Smith (Midfielder- Foxy Ladies), Shamika Marcus (Midfielder- Foxy Ladies), Vanissa Sacapieo (Midfielder- Saints Sports Club), Roshanna Grandison (Midfielder- Demerara Queens), Sasha James (Forward- GDF), Anulissa Johnson (Forward- Fruta Conquerors), Chante Leacock (Forward- NA United), Sherrilyn Kingston (Forward- Demerara Queens), Samantha Roberts (Forward- Paiwomak Warriors), Helen Domingo (Forward- Snatchers), Sonia Griffith (Forward- Saints Sports Club) and Shennel Daniels (Forward- Fruta Conquerors).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.