Gerry Gouveia, Retired Judges on list of nominees for GECOM Chair


Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo today (Tuesday, May 02, 2017) submitted his second list of nominees for the position of Chair of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

Justice William Ramlall (ret’d)
Justice of Appeal B.S Roy (ret’d)

The names were submitted to President David Granger, pursuant to the provisions of Article 161(2) of the Constitution of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

The six names are Justice of Appeal B.S Roy (ret’d), Justice William Ramlall (ret’d), Ms. Oneidge Walrond-Allicock, Attorney-at-law and a former Magistrate, Mr. Kashir Khan, Attorney-at-law, Ms. Nadia Sagar, Attorney-at-law and Mr. Gerald Gouveia.

Among the names submitted, one is a former Judge of the Court of Appeal of Guyana, one is a former Judge of the High Court of Guyana, three are Attorneys-at-law with over ten years of good standing at the Guyana Bar and one is a former Magistrate and therefore, qualify to be Judges of a Court having unlimited jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters in Guyana, in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana, the Opposition Leader said. The final name is a former Captain of the Guyana Defence Force, a Pilot, and a Businessman and Entrepreneur.

Jagdeo noted that arriving at these six names “was not an easy task.” He noted that he embarked upon an elaborate and protracted public and private consultative process which lasted several weeks, during which the views from various stakeholders were solicited.

Mr. Gerald Gouveia.
Attorney-at-law, Ms. Nadia Sagar

It was disclosed that the services of Madam Justice Desiree Bernard, Madam Justice Claudette Singh (ret’d) SC, Mr. Ralph Ramkarran SC, Timothy Jonas and Ronald Burchsmith, Attorneys-at-law, were also sought. However, they have indicated that their current commitments do not permit them to serve in the office of Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission, at this point of time.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.