31 Women among 69 persons to receive National Awards


As the country celebrates 51 years of Independence, 69 persons will receive National Awards for their immeasurable contribution to the development of Guyana.

Among those persons are 31 exceptional women, beginning with Acting Chancellor of the Judiciary, Justice Yonettte Cummings-Edwards who will be the only person to be conferred with the Order of Roraima. She has 27 years of unbroken experience in the local legal field. She joined that office in 1988 as a State Counsel and moved up to her current position over the years.

Also among the lineup of awardees areActing Veteran Journalists, Mr. Enrico Woolford, Ms. Julia Johnson, Mr. Adam Harris, and George Barclay, and Caricom Secretary General, Irwin LaRocque.

His Excellency David Granger, MSS, President of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces and Chancellor of the Orders of Guyana is pleased to make the following appointments under the Order of Roraima of Guyana and the Order of Service of Guyana.

Order of Roraima
1 Yonettte Decina Cummings-Edwards

Cacique’s Crown of Honour
1 Alison Roxane Mc Lean George
2 Ivelaw Lloyd Griffith
3 Moeenul Hack
4 Irwin La Rocque
5 Murtland Raphael Massiah

Golden Arrow of Achievement
1 Ramsay Ali
2 Annette Arjoon
3 Lloyd Fitzgerald Austin
4 Everette Lancelot Carberry
5 Rhoda Amelia Stephne Clarke
6 Winslow Marcellous Craig
7 Jose Louis Da Silva
8 Jennifer Dewar
9 Dorothy Fraser
10 Gloria Regina Fraser
11 Ameena Gafoor
12 Samuel Jaidatt Goolsarran
13 Gwyneth George
14 Adam Elias Harris
15 Hilton Gregory Hemerding
16 Sandra Hooper
17 Julia Ann Johnson
18 Sandra Valerie Jones
19 Raymond Mark Kirton
20 Hemraj Kissoon
21 Doris Ann Lewis
22 Tota Charran Mangar
23 Hyacinth Gloria Massay-Thomas
24 Julie Andrea Matthews
25 Coretta McDonald
26 George Gladstone McDonald
27 Ann Elizabeth McLennan
28 Marie June Mendes
29 Abena Nkenge Moore
30 Cecil Norman Murray
31 Vibert Virnen Parvatan
32 Jawahar Persaud
33 Karen Pilgrim
34 Andrew Godfrey Proctor
35 Khakan Ally Ramjohn
36 Gem Ann Rohlehr
37 Sonya Indira Roopnauth
38 Pradeep Parmanand Samtani
39 Godfrey Steve Statia
40 Barbara Patricia Thomas-Holder
41 Desmond Trotman
42 Patrick Everton Williams
43 Enrico Mortimer Woolford
44 John Carlson Yates

Medal of Service
1 Sandra Michelle Adams
2 John Andries
3 George Rupert Barclay
4 Erma Hyacinth Bovell
5 Camille Patricia Carrington
6 Patrick Nigel de Groot
7 Denise Dias
8 Merlene Ellis
9 Joan Anges Fredericks
10 Heeralall Makhanlall
11 Jenevieve Jenny Murray
12 Julio Perreira
13 Ryan Perreira
14 Emelda Sandy

Military Service Medal
1 Lt Col Lawrence Anthony Fraser
2 Lt Col Ramkarran Doodnauth

Disciplined Services Medal
1 Assistant Commissioner of Police Nigel Anthony Hoppie
2 Acting Director of Prisons Gladwin Andrea Samuels
3 Deputy Chief Fire Officer Winston Michael McGregor

His Excellency the President and members of the Advisory Council for the Orders of Guyana offer sincere congratulations to all the persons who have been honoured.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.