Chase lone newcomer in WI squad to face Afghanistan in ODIs


All-rounder Roston Chase has been rewarded for his consistent run in the Pakistan Tests with a maiden call-up to West Indies’ ODI squad for the three-match series against Afghanistan.

Twelve of the 14 members who were part of the squad for the third ODI against Pakistan – West Indies’ last ODI assignment – were retained. Chadwick Walton, the wicketkeeper who made just 36 runs in three outings in that series, and left-arm spinner Veersammy Permaul were left out.

Chase, who made his Test debut last year, has already established himself as a reliable middle-order batsman, scoring three centuries in 10 Tests, in addition to being a handy off-spinner.

“He was considered before for ODI selection, primarily because of his all-round ability,” Courtney Browne, Cricket West Indies’ chairman of selectors, said. “With his prolific run scoring in the last Test series and his continued steady all-round performances in the PCL, we now feel it’s time to introduce him to ODI cricket.

“He was not among the leading run-scorers in the Super50 tournament earlier this year, but we believe with his skill set and the way he has been playing, he could be an asset. His outstanding efforts with the bat could not be ignored any longer, coupled with his useful bowling can only add value to our squad.”

There was no place for senior players Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard, despite Browne having earlier hinted at the board revisiting the eligibility criteria for ODI selection. Currently, the CWI follows a stringent policy of considering only those players who have featured in the domestic 50-over competition.

All three ODIs will be played at the Darren Sammy Cricket Ground in St Lucia, with the first game slated for June 9. West Indies have already clinched the T20I series, with the final match to be played in St Kitts on Monday.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell (ESPNCricinfo)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.