Guyana to host CONCACAF Women’s U-17 Qualifiers in August


Guyana will host Group D of the CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Qualifiers from August 9-13, comprising Guyana, Barbados and Cuba. The announcement was made even as Guyana seeks to rebuild Women’s Football under its Technical Development Programme.  

Guyana Football Federation (GFF) President Wayne Forde expressed his pleasure at this announcement: “The GFF welcomes the opportunity to host Group D of the CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s tournament. This is yet another clear signal of the regional prominence and respect that Guyana now enjoys. I would like to ask the public to come out in huge numbers and support the games.”     

The tournament will feature 18 countries in five groups, including Group A: Trinidad and Tobago, US Virgin Islands, Grenada and Curacao; Group B: Puerto Rico, The Dominican Republic, Anguilla and the The Bahamas; Group C: St. Lucia, Bermuda, Antigua and Barbuda and Aruba; Group D: Guyana, Barbados and Cuba; and Group E: St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Kitts and Nevis and Jamaica. 

This will serve to decide the FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup; three teams will qualify for the World Cup.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.