President, Opp. Leader agree to assemble High-Level team if third GECOM list fails


Upon an invitation of President David Granger, today (Monday, June 12, 2017) the Leader of the Opposition and his team comprising of Members of Parliament, Anil Nandall and Irfaan Ali, met with the President and team comprising of the Ministers Joseph Harmon and Raphael Trotman to consult on the way forward on the selection and appointment of a Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission.

The parties agreed that it would be in the best interest of the people of Guyana that the choice of a Chairperson of the Guyana Elections Commission is made without undue delay. The parties further agreed that the Leader of the Opposition will submit a new list of six names to the President.

It was also agreed that a high-level team would be assembled representing the President and the Leader of the Opposition which will begin to work immediately on exploring modalities to bring a resolution to this matter in the event that the list is rejected.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.