Joe Singh, Datadin among third list of nominees for GECOM Chair


Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo today submitted his third list of nominees to President David Granger, with much optimism that a chairperson will be selected for the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

After the rejection of the first two lists, the Opposition Leader says he remains hopeful that the President will select a name, in light of the ruling by acting Chief Justice, Yonnette Cummings Edwards.

Teni Housty

President Granger rejected the first two lists on the grounds that the nominees were not fit and proper to fill the position of Chair at GECOM.

As such, private citizen, Marcel Gaskin had the challenged the President’s decision in the High Court, during which the Chief Justice ruled that the all of the nominees do not have to be judge-like as was desired by the President.

Annette Arjoon-Martins

According to the ruling, the President does not have to be provided with a list of all six suitable persons, therefore if a single nominee alone is considered “fit and proper” then the President must appoint that individual as the new GECOM Chairman.

Meanwhile, Jagdeo at a news conference today said that the absence of a GECOM Chair continues to hamper the work of the elections body and will have a negative impact on the upcoming Local Government Elections.

The six new nominees are Major General Joseph Singh, Teni Housty, Sanjeev Datadin, Annette Arjoon-Martins, Onesi La Fleur, and Krishnadatt Persaud.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.