GCB and CGI issue contracts to 28 players


The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) and its Jaguar Franchise have announced new contracts for the 2017/18 cricket season. Fifteen players received Cricket Guy Inc. (CGI) contracts for the upcoming Professional Cricket League, while 13 players copped Academy contracts commencing from the September 1, 2017.

The Centrally contracted players are: Leon Johnson, Raymon Reifer, Veerasammy Permaul, Keon Joseph, Rajendra Chandrika, Ramall Lewis, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Anthony Bramble, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Gudakesh Motie, Steven Jacobs, Tevin Imlach, Christopher Barnwell and Chanderpaul Hemraj.

The Academy Players are: Anthony Adams, Kemol Savory, Kevon Boodie, Akshaya Persaud, Joshua Persaud, Sherfane Rutherford, Clinton Pestano, Raun Johnson, Baskar Yadram, Robin Bacchus, Raymond Perez, Ronaldo Mohamed and Rickie Looknauth.

“These players would be joined by Cricket West Indies Contracted players Devendra Bishoo, Vishaul Singh and Shimron Hetemyer to commence preparation for the CWI PCL 2017/18 tournament. All Under-19 youth players returning from the CWI tournament in St. Kitts are required to report to Chairman of the Senior selection panel for placement in the Jaguars Three-day League and continued training with the CGI, if eligible to play in CWI U-19 2018,” the GCB said in a statement. 

It added, “It should be noted that Mr. Assad Fudadin refused a CGI contract. We wish him good luck in all future endeavours. Mr. Shivnarine Chanderpaul, if available, would be offered a “Pay for Play” contract with the Guyana Jaguars.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.