Singh named West Indies ‘A’ team Vice-captain


Guyanese middle-order batsman Vishaul Singh has been named West Indies ‘A’ team Vice-captain for the upcoming home series against Sri Lanka ‘A’, starting next month. The 13-member squad to face the tourists in the first two unofficial Test matches was named on Tuesday.

Only two members of the squad– Singh and left-arm fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell– have featured for the senior men’s team in full international, and Sunil Ambris is a current member of the senior One-day International squad playing against England.

A number of the other players – including captain Shamarh Brooks – have featured in previous series either for Windies “A” or in tour matches against visiting international teams in the last two seasons. 

The squad reads: Shamarh Brooks (Captain), Vishaul Singh (Vice-Captain), Sunil Ambris, John Campbell, Yannic Cariah, Rahkeem Cornwall, Sheldon Cottrell, Jahmar Hamilton, Montcin Hodge, Damion Jacobs, Keon Joseph, Reynard Leveridge and Oshane Thomas. 

Commenting on the squad, Chairman of the CWI Selection Panel, Courtney Browne said: “Our A-Team is the feeding ground for our senior men’s team and so we are looking to continue the development of our second-tier players. With a strong focus on consistency in selection, this series is another opportunity for them to continue to press their claims for a place in the senior side, thus placing selection pressure on incumbents, ensuring there is healthy competition for spots and growing our talent pool.” 

The two sides will clash in three unofficial Test matches from October 11 to 29 with all the games scheduled for Jamaica- the venues being the Trelawny Multiplex and Sabina Park. Three one day matches are also fixed for November 1-5, also in Jamaica.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.