69 receive national awards at 2017 Investiture Ceremony


Pride and patriotism reverberated in the National Cultural Centre as riveting cultural performances kicked off the 2017 Investiture Ceremony where 69 persons were rewarded for their outstanding and invaluable contributions to Guyana.

Rounds of applause echoed through the semi-packed auditorium of the Centre on earlier this evening (Friday, October 06, 2017) where Guyanese and professionals of other nationalities were awarded by Chancellor of the Orders of Guyana, President David Granger.

Dressed in their finest suits and fanciest dresses, awardees stole the spotlight as they strode down the green carpet to receive their badges of honour from President Granger.

Chancellor of the Judiciary (Ag), Yonette Decina Cummings-Edwards was bestowed with the Order of Roraima, for her long and outstanding service in the field of law. She has 27 years of unbroken experience in the local legal fraternity, having started off as a State Counsel in 1988 and worked her way up to her current position over the years.

The Cacique Crown of Honour, was awarded to the Secretary-General of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), Irwin LaRocque; Chief Justice (Ag), Roxane George-Wiltshire; Chancellor of the University of Guyana, Ivelaw Griffith; and religious leaders, Sheik Moen-ul-Hack and Murtland Massiah.

President Granger, in a short and simple presentation, congratulated this year’s awardees and promisedthat the Guyana Government wil never again “disparage this national institution” by neglecting to reward persons for their contributions to the nation.

According to the Head of State, National Awards are not “ornamental or perfunctory” but a reflection of the State’s appreciation to its citizens.

He said National Awards encourage others, particularly youths, to emulate the achievements of their elders.

National Awards were first given out in 1970 and it was an annual occasion until 2002. After a hiatus of nine years, the investiture ceremony was held again in 2011 and then again in 2015 where it resumed its annual status.

Thirty-one women were among this year’s awardees.

The full list of awardees is below.

Order of Roraima

1 Yonettte Decina Cummings-Edwards 

Cacique’s Crown of Honour

1 Alison Roxane Mc Lean George

2 Ivelaw Lloyd Griffith

3 Moeenul Hack

4 Irwin La Rocque

5 Murtland Raphael Massiah

Golden Arrow of Achievement

1 Ramsay Ali

2 Annette Arjoon

3 Lloyd Fitzgerald Austin

4 Everette Lancelot Carberry

5 Rhoda Amelia Stephne Clarke

6 Winslow Marcellous Craig

7 Jose Louis Da Silva

8 Jennifer Dewar

9 Dorothy Fraser

10 Gloria Regina Fraser

11 Ameena Gafoor

12 Samuel Jaidatt Goolsarran

13 Gwyneth George

14 Adam Elias Harris

15 Hilton Gregory Hemerding

16 Sandra Hooper

17 Julia Ann Johnson

18 Sandra Valerie Jones

19 Raymond Mark Kirton

20 Hemraj Kissoon

21 Doris Ann Lewis

22 Tota Charran Mangar

23 Hyacinth Gloria Massay-Thomas

24 Julie Andrea Matthews

25 Coretta McDonald

26 George Gladstone McDonald

27 Ann Elizabeth McLennan

28 Marie June Mendes

29 Abena Nkenge Moore

30 Cecil Norman Murray

31 Vibert Virnen Parvatan

32 Jawahar Persaud

33 Karen Pilgrim

34 Andrew Godfrey Proctor

35 Khakan Ally Ramjohn

36 Gem Ann Rohlehr

37 Sonya Indira Roopnauth

38 Pradeep Parmanand Samtani

39 Godfrey Steve Statia

40 Barbara Patricia Thomas-Holder

41 Desmond Trotman

42 Patrick Everton Williams

43 Enrico Mortimer Woolford

44 John Carlson Yates

Medal of Service

1 Sandra Michelle Adams

2 John Andries

3 George Rupert Barclay

4 Erma Hyacinth Bovell

5 Camille Patricia Carrington

6 Patrick Nigel de Groot

7 Denise Dias

8 Merlene Ellis

9 Joan Anges Fredericks

10 Heeralall Makhanlall

11 Jenevieve Jenny Murray

12 Julio Perreira

13 Ryan Perreira

14 Emelda Sandy

Military Service Medal

1 Lt Col Lawrence Anthony Fraser

2 Lt Col Ramkarran Doodnauth

Disciplined Services Medal

1 Assistant Commissioner of Police Nigel Anthony Hoppie

2 Acting Director of Prisons Gladwin Andrea Samuels

3 Deputy Chief Fire Officer Winston Michael McGregor






Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.