‘CARIBBEAN SHOWDOWN’: Jeffrey on pole for 125cc Senior


By Avenash Ramzan

Kristian Jeffrey will start on pole in the 125cc Senior category at Saturday’s Georgetown Grand Prix ‘Caribbean Showdown’ after clocking the fastest lap time in qualifying on Friday night at GT Motorsports.

Competing in the category for the first time after racking up a clean slate of wins in the Shifter Pro Cup at the previous three Georgetown Grand Prix events, Jeffrey had the fastest time of 31.912s in a competitive field.

Matthew Vieira clocked 32.194s, followed by Mikhail Persaud (32.345s), Matthew Phang (32.508s), Joshua Sirgany (32.673s), John Phang (32.724s), Kristian Boodoosingh (32.744s), Elan Rahaman (32.882s), Denzel Hopkinson (32.963s) and Senna Summerbell (33.782s).


In the 125cc Junior, Elan Rahaman took pole with a best lap time of 32.266s, ahead of Mikhail Persaud’s 32.520s. John Phang (32.779s), Rayden Persaud (33.052s) and Tommi Gore (33.120s) round off the top five.


Justin Tenpow will start on pole in the Sun Burst Kids Cup after clocking a leading time of 35.038s, pipping his brother and championship leader Jeremy Tenpow, who clocked 35.169s.

Nathan Rahaman had the third fastest time of 35.439s, followed by Paige Mendonca (35.569s), Josh Khan (36.758s) and Ryan Lue (36.832s).


Stefan Jeffrey is top of the pile in the Easy Cup Heavy with a fastest time of 37.416s, just ahead of championship leader Shan Seejatan’s 37.421s. Haniff Mohamed and Raymond Seebarran follow with 37.651s and 37.954s respectively.

Raymond Baksh copped pole in the Easy Cup Light with 37.150s, ahead of Haniff Mohamed (37.238s), Brian Tenpow (37.242s), Dharmendra Dharmo (37.379s), Stefan Jeffrey (37.395s) and Raymond Seebarran (37.701s).

Raymond Baksh (right)

Easy Cup Rookie championship points leader Raymond Baksh clocked the fastest time of 37.086s, followed by Ralph Persaud (37.405s) and Dharmendra Dharmo (37.522s).

Meanwhile, action will speed off at 18:00h on Saturday and admission to the venue is $1,000 for adults, $500 for children and $4,000 for the VIP experience. 

The event will set the stage for the ultimate motorsport event of the year- the final leg of the Caribbean Motor Racing Championship on November 12 at the South Dakota Circuit. 

It is being supported by Sun Burst Juices, Rent-A-Tent, Fly Jamaica, Stag Beer, Monster Energy Drink, Exxon Mobil, Hand-in-Hand Insurance, Readymix Concrete, Scotiabank, Cloud 9, Optique Vision Care, Toucan Industries, Ticket Master Travel Agency, E-Networks, King’s Jewellery World, Hero Motor Cycles, Ray’s Motor Spares, Cyril’s Taxi Service, Bounty, Trophy Stall, Prem’s Electrical Store, Impressions, Truck Masters, Windjammer, Super Bet, The Track Bar, Ocean Spray Hotel, Secure Innovation and Concept, Clear Waters, Marics, Rid-O-Pest and Karcher.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.