Tenpow, Gore, Baksh and Mohamed on pole


By Avenash Ramzan

Photos: Ackeem Thomas

Jeremy Tenpow, Tommi Gore, Raymond Baksh and Haniff Mohamed qualified on pole for their respective category on Friday evening when the first set of qualifying was held for Saturday’s highly anticipated Georgetown Grand Prix Final Showdown at GT Motorsports.

Tenpow will start top of the grid in the Sun Burst Kids Cup 60cc after clocking the fastest lap time of 34.657 seconds. Nathan Rahaman (35.076s), Justin Tenpow (35.195s) and the lone female in the event, Paige Mendonca (35.334s) will start in that order.

Jamaican Gore, the only non-Guyanese to qualify on pole on Friday night, had a time of 32.076s in the 125cc Junior, followed by John Phang (32.219s), Elan Rahaman (32.734s), Rayden Persaud (33.044s), Faraud Mohamed (33.047s) and Mikhail Persaud (33.236s).

Raymond Baksh (left) and Haniff Mohamed

The consistent Baksh had the best time in the Easy Cup Rookie, clocking 36.835s. Ralph Persaud (37.706s), Dharmendra Dharmo (37.740s) and Shahab Gajie (38.207s) will start in that sequence on the grid.

In the Easy Cup Light, Mohamed will start on pole after he was timed at 37.273s, faster than Raymond Seebarran (37.389s), Ralph Persaud (37.39s), Steven Nobrega (37.395s), Dharmendra Dharmo (37.917s) and Shahab Gajie (38.151s). 

Qualifying for the remaining categories- Shifter Pro Cup, 125cc Senior and Easy Cup Heavy- will take place on Saturday, following which the races will get underway. 

Action on Saturday will commence at 18:00h. Admission to the venue on race night is $1,000 for adults, $500 for children and $6,000 VIP. Additionally, the organisers are advising members of the public that free parking will be provided at the Malteenoes Sports Club ground.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.