George, Hooper capture top honours at AAG awards

- Linden dominates junior, youth categories


By Treiston Joseph

It is the one night of the year where Guyana’s top athletes exchange their spikes and tights for elegant wear as the Athletics Association of Guyana (AAG) held its awards ceremony on Saturday evening at the Umana Yana.

There were no surprise winners as national 400m record holder Winston George won the senior male athlete-of-the-year award ahead of USA-based national triple jump record holder Troy Doris, who finished as the runner-up.

Taking the top honours on the distaff side was Jamaica-based high jumper Natrena Hooper while national javelin record holder Tenesha Cort finished as the runner-up.

Meanwhile, the junior and youth categories were dominated by Region 10 athletes, and deservedly so. Compton Caesar with his phenomenal 100m showing at Carifta won the Junior male athlete-of-the-year award, while middle distance athlete, Anferenee Headecker, who also had success at Carifta, finished as the runner-up.

The junior female athlete-of-the-year was triple jumper Natricia Hooper; the smaller sister of Natrena, while sprint ace Onasha Rogers finished as runner-up in that category.

Taking the male youth athlete-of-the-year award was 400m South American Youth record holder Daniel Williams while ace sprinter Jermaine King got the runner-up spot.

The female youth winner was long and triple jumper Chantoba Bright with her Carifta performance as well. Middle distance prodigy Claudrice McKoy and sprinter Kenisha Phillips finished tied for the runner-up spot.

2016 National Coach-of-the-year Johnny Greavesande won the coach-of-the-year award, while Moses Pantlitz was awarded the President’s award for 2017 because of his role with Caesar and South American 400m gold medallist Deshanna Skeete. 

The award ceremony ended with coach of Super Upcoming Runners (SUR), Nial Stanton, thanking the awardees for their commitment to the sport.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.