Fernandes wins round one of two-hour Endurance


The motor-racing season sped off on Sunday with a two-hour Endurance race at the South Dakota Circuit. Despite early morning showers and a late start, the event turned out a huge success with an enthusiastic bunch of drivers taking to the starting line.

Adrian Fernandes onboard his winning car

When it was all done and dusted, Adrian Fernandes, in his Toyota Levin, emerged as the overall winner, recording a whopping 83 laps. Such was Fernandes’ dominance in his #211 white and blue Gillette branded machine that no other driver got more than 78 laps. 

Fernandes competed in the 1501-1600cc Class. Sean Bacchus came in second with 78 laps, while Motilall Deodass had to settle for third with 75 laps. 

Roshan Ali (right) and Mohamed Shahabudin Roshandin

In the 0-1500cc Class, the pair of Roshan Ali and Mohamed Shahabudin Roshandin, with 76 laps, emerged champions, narrowly edging out Haniff Mohamed of Team Nexus with 75 laps. 

Davin Panday (72 laps), Clint Seebarran (71 laps) and Syed Hassan (66 laps) rounded off the top five finishers, while Ramanand Rampertab (43 laps) and Troy Muir (20 laps) failed to finish. 

Romeo Singh won the Unlimited Class

Guyana Motor Racing and Sports Club president Rameez Mohamed won the 1601-2000cc Class, recording 32 laps, as well as breaking the lap record, clocking a time of 1:19.086s on lap 15. 

The Unlimited Class (2001cc and over) was won by Romeo Singh, who managed 57 laps. The other competitors in this class- Danny Persaud and Shan Seejatan- did not finish.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.