Cabinet approves appointment of board members, UG Council


Minister of State, Joseph Harmon on Thursday last announced that approval has been granted for the appointment of representatives to sit on several boards and the University of Guyana (UG) Council.

The Directors of these boards will serve for a period of one year commencing from March 1, 2018 to February 28, 2019.

The UG Council members are as follows:

Chancellor, Professor Nigel Harris

Vice Chancellor, Professor Ivelaw Griffith

UG Academic Board, Jacqueline Murray

Committee of Deans, Dr. Paulette Bynoe, AA

President, UGSS, Norwell Hinds

President, UGSSA, Dr. Jewel Thomas

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Vibert Welch

Budget Director, Ministry of Finance, Sonya Roopnauth

APNU/AFC Representative, Vincent Alexander

Representative, Parliamentary Opposition

Women’s Interest, Jasmin Harris

Farmer’s Interest, Patrick De Groot

Indigenous Peoples’ Interest, Marian Andrew

Business Interest, Allison Butters-Grant

Guyana Trade Union Congress, Ivor English

Representative, Guild of Graduates

Lawyer’s Association, Timothy Jonas

Medical Council of Guyana, Dr. Navindranauth Rambaran

Marissa Seepersaud

The Chancellor’s Nominees are as follows:

Major General Joe Singh (Rtd)

Myrna Bernard

Registrar, Dr. Nigel Gravesande

Nominee, Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada

Nominee, University of the West Indies


Members of the National Tripartite Committee are as follows:

Chairperson, Minister of Social Protection, Hon. Amna Ally

Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection with responsibility for Labour, Hon. Keith Scott

Mabiola Howard

Charles Ogle

Holly Greaves

Coretta McDonald

Norris Whitter

Leslie Gonsalves

Samuel Goolsarran

Jairam Petam

Taajnauth Jadunauth

Bal Persaud

Faye Smartt-Scott

Bibi Ramchan

Carvil Duncan

Seepaul Narine

Dawchan Nagasar

Secretary, Karen VanSluytman- Corbin


Sugar Welfare Fund Committee members are as follows:

Chairman, Alan Munroe

Charles Ogle

Paul Bhim

Deodat James-Sukhu

Lincoln Lewis

Dawchan Nagasar

Harvey Tambron

Curbette Victorine


Members of the National Advisory Council on Occupational Health and Safety are as follows:

Chairman, Earl Morris

Patricia Woolford

Julian Amsterdam

Donnette Richie

Andrew Holder

Pancham Singh

Jeffrey Walcott

Marguerite Hoyte

Wendell Alleyne

Sherry Ferrell

Morris Solomon

Shailendra Rai

Representative, Guyana Association of Professional Engineers

Representative, Gold and Diamond Miners Association

Representative, Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Guyana

Two Representatives, Ministry of Social Protection (Labour, Occupational Safety and Health Department)

Secretary, Maxine Bess


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.