IPL: Russell, Narine star as KKR whip Daredevils


Spinners Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav took three wickets each as Kolkata Knight Riders inflicted a 71-run whipping on Delhi Daredevils in the IPL on Monday.

Chasing 201, Daredevils stumbled to 129 all out with Narine taking 3-18 and Yadav 3-32. In the process, Narine claimed his 100th wicket in the IPL.

The bulk of the runs was scored by Glenn Maxwell with 47 (22 balls; 3x4s, 4x6s) and Rishab Pant with 43 (26 balls; 7x4s, 1×6). No other batsman reached double-figures as Daredevils never really got going.

Sunil Narine claimed his 100th IPL wicket

Earlier, left-hander Nitish Rana spanked 59 off 35 balls (5x4s, 4x6s) and Andre Russell smashed six sixes in 41 off 12 balls as Knight Riders made their second score of 200 and beyond this season.

Robin Uthappa made 35 (19 balls; 2x4s, 3x6s) and Chris Lynn 31 (29 balls; 4x4s, 1×6). Rahul Tewatia took 3-18, while Trent Boult and Chris Morris had two wickets each. 

The IPL will continue tomorrow (Tuesday) with Mumbai Indians facing Royal Challengers Bangalore from 10:30h.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.