President Granger, Opposition Leader discuss nominees for Public Service Commission, Police Service Commission


President David Granger Wednesday morning met with Leader of the Opposition, Bharrat Jagdeo at State House to discuss the appointment of members of the Public Service Commission (PSC) and the Police Service Commission, whose lives ended months ago.

The Leader of the Opposition was accompanied by former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall and Opposition Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira while Minister of State, Joseph Harmon and Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams accompanied the President.

A statement from the Ministry of the Presidency on the meeting noted that the President is required by the Constitution to consult with the Opposition Leader and that the Commissions will soon be sworn in.

Paul Slowe was tipped to head the Police Service Commission – the body responsible for disciplining and promoting police officers.

President David Granger greets Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo at State House. [Ministry of the Presidency photo]
But Jagdeo had made it clear that he will inform President Granger of his disapproval of Slowe since he believes that Slowe is political and will treat officers unfairly if he is to head that Commission.

The statement from the Ministry, however, did not reveal the outcome of the meeting between the two leaders but quoted Minister Harmon as saying that the President consulted in keeping with the requirements of the constitution.

“The requirement was for meaningful consultation and not necessarily agreement and so that consultation took place and now I believe we can proceed with having the two Commissions established and the President at a short time from now will have those two Commissions sworn in so that their work can continue,” Minister Harmon was quoted as saying.

The other persons recommended to serve on the Police Service Commission are Clinton Conway and retired Woman Assistant Commissioners Vesta Adams and Claire Jarvis.

The nominees for the Public Service Commission are Vibert Bowman and Mortimer Livan.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.