UG to honour four Guyanese with Honorary Doctorates


The University of Guyana’s academic board has approved the petition of Vice Chancellor Ivelaw Griffith to confer Honorary Doctorates on four Guyanese.

It is the first time the University will be bestowing this honour, Professor Griffith said in an announcement on his Facebook page.

“The deserving four” are: Amerindian rights activist Laura George; internationally acclaimed singer Eddy Grant; business magnate and leader of micro-financing Yesu Persaud; and realty businessman Jay Sobhraj.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.