Prime Minister’s Softball T20 Cup bowls off this weekend


In two days, the second edition of the riveting Prime Minister’s Softball T20 Cup commences around city grounds, and according to the organisers, all systems are in place for a grand tournament.

The organisers held the group draw for both the All Stars and Masters categories on Tuesday at the Guyana National Industrial Company Ground (GNIC), Woolford Avenue, after which they gave an update to their readiness to host 24 teams.

President of the Georgetown Softball League Cricket Inc. (GSLC), Ian John, revealed that teams are extremely upbeat about their chances.

He also stated, “We had to wait until the last week or two to get feedback from teams in the USA and Canada about them getting leave from their jobs to come and play the tournament.”

Though the tournament is just in its second year, John foresees monumental growth given it has no entry fee attached and it is just the pillar for the group to push for more regular tournaments.

They will be using GNIC, YMCA, Demerara Cricket Club, MYO and Everest where the finals will be played on Sunday.

Regarding the draws, the top two teams will play the respective runners-up. Group matches will be played on crisscross basis, with each team playing at least three matches before the knockout commences.

The playing conditions stipulate that in the Open category, there will be the conventional ‘round-arm’ bowling and not ‘flick bowling’ in keeping with overseas tournament rules. However, the latter will be allowed in the Masters category.

The Most Valuable Player (Open) will win a Dawn 150 motorcycle, compliments of Hero Motorcycle, while the winner in the Masters cops a flat screen television. Most notably, a special donation will be made to the Florida Open Charity Organisation.

The winning team in the Open category will earn $700,000 and $100,000 for second place, while in the Masters, there will be $600,000 for first and $100,000 for second.

In 2017, Regal Masters and Speedboat were crowned respective champions of the Masters and Open categories.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.