Ireland first team to arrive for Women’s World T20


With momentum building ahead of the Women’s World T20, the Irish cricketers are the first to land in Guyana for the November 9-24 event.

The Irish females touched down at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport on Monday night and were received at the port of entry by members of the Local Organising Committee, including Colin Stuart, Colin Boyce and Monica Sharma.

They were later given an official welcome by a delegation led by Minister of Sport Dr. George Norton and including Venue Manager Sabrina Panday and Match Day Manager KJ Singh at the Marriott Hotel in Georgetown.


In all, there are 11 matches scheduled for the Guyana National Stadium at Providence across five days on November 9, 11, 13, 15 and 17.

When the tournament begins on Friday November 9, there will be a triple header with New Zealand taking on India from 11:00h, followed by former three-time champions Australia battling Pakistan from 16:00, while defending champions, Windies will begin their title defence against Bangladesh at 20:00h.

In addition to the gripping action on the field, there will be a super concert featuring Shenseea, Patrice Roberts, Tamika Marshall, Big Red among others on the opening day, while every playing day will also have similar stage performances.

Tickets are priced at G$500 for the Grass Mound and G$1,000 for any stand on match days. Additionally, adults may request tickets for children 12 years old and younger with the purchase of their tickets while senior citizens 60 years and older who wish to attend the matches must produce a valid form of identification to receive their free passes.


This is the sixth edition of the ICC Women’s World T20 tournament and the second time it is being held in the West Indies. This is the first standalone Women’s World T20 after the previous five editions were held along with the ICC Men’s World T20.

All 23 matches will be broadcast live, with the Decision Review System being used in an ICC World T20 for the first time.

Australia have won the tournament three times, while England and defending champions the West Indies have won it once each.

The West Indies are placed in Group A along with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, while Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland are in Group B.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.