Injured Holder out of Bangladesh tour


Captain Jason Holder is out of West Indies’ tour of Bangladesh due to a shoulder injury. According to Johnny Grave, the CWI chief executive, Holder has a “partial thickness tear of his subscatularis tendon” for which he will undergo physiotherapy and strengthening work, and will be reassessed in four weeks’ time.

“The medical panel were concerned that if Jason was to bowl in Bangladesh, the partial tear may become a full tear which may involve the need for surgery and/or a significant break from cricket,” Grave told “It was, therefore, then recommended for Jason not to travel to Bangladesh and instead undergo physiotherapy and rehab in Barbados.”

Holder said that since he had been troubled with the injury since the World Cup Qualifiers in March. “I am definitely disappointed not being able to make the tour to Bangladesh,” Holder said. “But based on the advice from the medical team, we felt this was the best course of action to deal with the ongoing issues I have been having with my shoulder and prevent further damage.”

“I’ve been having issues with my shoulder since the World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe in March. Since then I have been trying to manage it and the pain levels, but it has got to a point now where I’ve got to take time to correct it so that going forward I have no further issues. Obviously I am disappointed to miss the tour but I know the boys are capable of beating Bangladesh.”

Kraigg Brathwaite, Holder’s deputy in Tests, is expected to lead West Indies in the two-Test series against Bangladesh from November 22.

Ten members of the side will arrive in Chittagong today, while the rest are scheduled to arrive in three groups on Thursday. West Indies’ first on-field action in Bangladesh is a two-day practice match in Chittagong. (ESPNCricinfo)

***Cricket West Indies has announced the Test squad for the series. Kraigg Brathwaite will lead the side in the absence of Holder.

FULL SQUAD: Kraigg Brathwaite – Captain, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Shermon Lewis, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach and Jomel Warrican. (Note: Guyanese players in Italics)


1st Test – November 22 – Chittagong

2nd Test – November 30 – Mirpur

1st ODI – December 9 – Mirpur

2nd ODI – December 11 – Mirpur

3rd ODI – December 14 – Sylhet

1st T20I – December 17 – Sylhet

2nd T20I – December 20 – Mirpur

3rd T20I – December 22 – Mirpur


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.