BREAKING: Rovman Powell to captain West Indies ODI team


The Selection Panel of Cricket West Indies has named a 15-member squad to play Bangladesh in three One Day Internationals on December 9, 11, 14 in Bangladesh.

The selection sees the return of Darren Bravo to the ODI squad, along with T20 skipper Carlos Brathwaite and Roston Chase.  Recent debutants, Fabian Allen, Chandrapaul Hemraj and Oshane Thomas retain their places following the ODI series against India last month.

Hemraj is one of four Guyanese in the squad, the others being Devendra Bishoo, Keemo Paul and Shimron Hetmyer.

Due to the absence of regular captain Jason Holder, CWI’s Board of Directors has approved Rovman Powell as interim captain, as the Windies seek to reverse the recent 2-1 home series defeat in July 2018.

Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne said, “With two more ODI Series before the 2019 World Cup, the Bangladesh series allows us to narrow our search for our final 15-member World Cup squad. In the absence of captain Jason Holder, the panel believes the team can still be competitive, especially with the return of Darren Bravo. Darren’s experience will add value to the batting, which in turn will place selection pressure for spots in the squad. The selection panel therefore takes this opportunity to wish the team much success in Bangladesh.”

The full team is as follows: Rovman Powell (Captain), Marlon Samuels, Devendra Bishoo, Roston Chase, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach, Sunil Ambris and Oshane Thomas.


1st Test – November 22 – Chattogram

2nd Test – November 30 – Mirpur

1st ODI – December 9 – Mirpur

2nd ODI – December 11 – Mirpur

3rd ODI – December 14 – Sylhet

1st T20I – December 17 – Sylhet

2nd T20I – December 20 – Mirpur

3rd T20I – December 22 – Mirpur


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.