Adrian Fernandes crowned champion driver of 2018 Endurance series


Team Wreckers ace driver Adrian Fernandes is the 2018 champion driver for the Endurance series after the Guyana Motor Racing and Sports Club awards ceremony was held on Tuesday evening at GT Motorsports.

After an undefeated year with his Toyota Levin, Adrian Fernandes scored 75 points to be crowned the overall champion driver, while Balram Ramdeo with 228 points was deemed the best mechanic.

Just last Sunday, Fernandes and team amassed a total of 86 laps over two hours of driving at the South Dakota circuit in the final round. His team edged out Motilall Deodass, who finished just one lap adrift of the winners in the overall as well as 1501-1600cc class.

Team Principal Anand Ramchand said his team worked overtime to ensure they remain champions.  

Balram Ramdeo won the award for best mechanic in both the Endurance and Drags categories 

In the Unlimited category, Romeo Singh with 43 was the champion driver, while in the 1601cc-2000cc Roshan Ali and Shan Seejattan had a three-way tie of 25 points with Syed Hassan, Mohamed Ali and Rameez Mohamed.

Ali and Seejattan won by virtue of completing the most laps, 81 to be specific. The 0-1500cc went to Haniff Mohamed and Raymond Seebarran, who had 55 points.

Rameez Mohamed was also given a special plaque for setting a new large circuit record of 1:17.026s. Driving his Honda Civic in the unlimited class, he was able to break a record once set by Eric Vieira back in 1972.

For the Drags:

15 seconds went to Pankraj Ramdeo 249 points

14 seconds- Rayon Brijpal 179 points

13 seconds- Narindradutt Mangar, 218 points

12 seconds- Romeo Singh 184 points

11 seconds- Chet Singh 147 points

10 seconds- Damion Persaud 310 points

9 seconds- Raj Panday 145 points

Unlimited- Team Mohamed’s 314 points

Balram Ramdeo also won the best mechanic for Drags with whopping 1249 points ahead of Sean Persaud 1073 and Anil Persaud with 631 points.

GMR&SC also took the opportunity to thank their numerous sponsors for the overwhelming support and also the Marshals who volunteered their services during 2018.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.