NSC congratulates IPL-bound Guyanese trio


Director of Sport Christopher Jones on Tuesday offered congratulations to Guyana and West Indies players Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford and Keemo Paul, who have been selected to play in the Indian Premier League 2019.

Hetmyer was selected by Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rutherford and Paul were selected by Delhi Capitals in Tuesday’s auction held in Jaipur, India.

The Director of Sport also congratulated the three other West Indian players who were selected – Carlos Brathwaite (Barbados), Nicholas Pooran (Trinidad and Tobago) and Oshane Thomas (Jamaica).

Brathwaite will head to Kolkata Knight Riders, Pooran to Kings XI Punjab and Thomas to Rajasthan Royals.

“All of Guyana looks forward to exciting performances from our trio in the marque tournament and we will be all glued to the broadcast as we follow their exploits,” Director Jones said.

“We are assured that they will each represent our proud nation of world class cricketing pedigree and the Golden Arrowhead with dignity and pride,” Jones said.

Other West Indian players who will play in IPL 2019 are:

Dwayne Bravo (Trinidad and Tobago) – Chennai Super Kings
Chris Gayle (Jamaica) – Kings XI Punjab
Andre Russell (Jamaica) – Kolkata Knight Riders
Sunil Narine (Trinidad and Tobago) – Kolkata Knight Riders
Evin Lewis (Trinidad and Tobago) – Mumbai Indians
Kieron Pollard (Trinidad and Tobago) – Mumbai Indians

The Guyanese who previously participated in the IPL are Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Christopher Barnwell.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.