GRFU names squad for decisive clash against Cayman Islands


A 23-man squad has been named by the Guyana Rugby Football Union (GRFU) for the country’s battle with host Cayman Islands on February 9 at the South Sounds Ground.

The squad was released by the Union on Sunday and if they win, they would ensure the Men’s 15s team return to the Americas Challenge Series, which is expected to feature Colombia, Paraguay and Mexico.

Guyana’s elevation to the Americas Rugby Challenge Series provided a rude awakening with a string of crushing defeats. They lost to the hosts 7-71, Paraguay 7-86 and Mexico 36-48.

Cayman Islands, ranked 52, are six places ahead of Guyana on the rankings and tasked with leading a change in fortunes is Panthers’ Jamal Angus, who takes up the role as captain, replacing Ryan Gonsalves.

The squad includes two new players in David Garnett and Glenroy Poole, while Selwyn Henry James Osborne and Jamal Darrell 2018 rookies retain their places from the abysmal trip to Colombia last year.

Several of the seasoned players such as Avery Corbin, Patrick King and Dwayne Schroeder are being retained for the Sevens and will miss out on this series.

Squad: Jason Tyrell, Rondel McArthur, Walter George, Richard Staglon, James Osborne, Joseph Rahaman, Vallon Adams, Selwyn Henry, Jamal Angus (Captain), Godfrey Broomes, Cloyd Prowell, Osei McKenzie, David Garnett, Glenroy Poole, Lancelot Adonis, Jamal Darrell, Kevin David, Sean Phillips, Ryan Dey,  Phibain Joseph, Ryan Gonsalves, Ronald Mayers and Grantley Adams.

Management: Kenneth Grant-Stuart (Head Coach), Solomon Austin (Manager), Barrington Brown (Physiotherapist)

The players will depart in two batches, with travelling dates being February 6 and 7. In the lead up, they will continue daily training at the National Park and in the gym.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.