PCL: Jaguars eager to rebound after double stumble


After suffering a thrilling two-wicket defeat to Leeward Hurricanes at Providence in the fifth round, they took a break, travelled to Trinidad and Tobago and got a sound 93-run thrashing at the hands of Red Force.

It means for the first time in five seasons of the Professional Cricket League, title holders Guyana Jaguars lost two consecutive matches and now have to rebound against the visiting Jamaica Scorpions if they are to remain in contention for a fifth title on the trot.

Head Coach Rayon Griffith adjudged the defeats to costly drop catches and a lack of partnerships.

Training on Wednesday ahead of their clash against Scorpions at Providence, the players looked in high spirits. They are conscious a third defeat could make life very difficult as they pursue a successful title defence.

Reflecting on the two defeats, Griffith contended they did not execute the basics properly.

Chandrapaul Hemraj was in deep concentration during the net session on Wednesday

Griffith, along with assistance coach Shivnarine Chanderpaul, is now tasked with galvanising the players so they can return to winning ways.  The coach stated the players are in good spirits and they desperately want to make amends.

For the opposition, veteran fast bowler Jerome Taylor and medium-pacer Rovman Powell aided Scorpions to escape with a one-wicket victory over Hurricanes in St. Kitts. It is such performances that make Jaguars’ wary that Scorpions must not be underestimated.

With Keemo Paul off to St. Lucia for the third Test with West Indies, Jaguars have been forced to make one change, drafting in fast bowler Keon Joseph.

Jaguars Squad: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson (captain), Vishaul Singh, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Clinton Pestano, Veerasammy Permaul, Christopher Barnwell, Gudakesh Motie and Keon Joseph.

Scorpions Squad: Brandon King, Aldane Thomas, Jerome Taylor, Chadick Walton, Assad Fudadin, Kenroy Williams, Derval Green, Jermaine Blackwood, Dennis Buli, Reynard Leveridge, Oraine Williams, Ravmon Powell, Paul Palmer Jr.

Match time is 09:30h. Admission to the venue is free.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.