Sparta Boss crowned Magnum Mash Cup kings


In a final that went down to the wire, Sparta Boss prevailed in a penalty shootout with Back Circle to emerge champions of the second annual Magnum Mash Cup Futsal championship, which concluded in the wee hours on Sunday at the National Gymnasium, Mandela Avenue.

In the championship game, which guaranteed the winner a $600,000 cash incentive and bragging rights for one year, two of the more seasoned teams in this format of the game played to a thrilling 4-4 stalemate by the end of regulation and extra time.

In the penalty shootout, Sparta Boss edged home with a 2-1 scoreline, leaving Back Circle to settle for the $300,000 second place prize.

That the quality of the championship game, and those that preceded it, were watched by another massive crowd, characterised the tournament this year, as community-based talents were offered a platform on which to excel.

The championship game definitely lived up to its billing, as the outcome was never clear cut at any given point. The game went back and forth with Gregory Richardson’s opening goal for Sparta Boss in the 10th minute, nullified by Selwyn Williams strike a minute later.

Jermain Beckles placed Back Circle in the lead in the 17th minute, before Eusi Phillips equalised two minutes later. It soon became 3-2 in favour of Sparta Boss when Ryan Hackett scored in the 32nd minute.

But the match was returned to even scores when Beckles netted his second goal of the night, two minutes later.

The drama continued when Jermain Junior gave Sparta Boss the lead in the 36th minute, but that was shortlived as Adrian Alves equalised two minutes from full time to force the match into extra time, and ultimately penalties.

In the third place playoff, 2018 champions Bent Street won 3-1 on penalties against Gold is Money after regulation and extra time ended 2-2. Bent Street won $200,000 and Gold is Money half that amount.

The competition, which started in early February with 32 teams, was organised by SannSports, in partnership with Ansa McAl Trading, the National Sports Commission, Insurance Brokers, the Trophy Stall and Nigel Hinds.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.