Harmon, Greenidge, Roopnaraine, Gaskin resign as MPs


The Government of Guyana has announced that President David Granger has accepted the resignation of all coalition Members of Parliament who are holders of dual citizenship.

The High Court and the Court of Appeal recently ruled that those who hold dual citizenship are not qualified to be Parliamentarians.

On the Government side, Minister of State Joseph Harmon and Minister of Foreign Affairs Carl Greenidge have admitted they are dual citizens along with Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin and Minister of Public Service Rupert Roopnaraine.

“These members will not be returning to Parliament therefore, when it reconvenes on April 11, 2019,” the Government statement noted early Tuesday.

According to the statement, “The Government of Guyana is committed to the upholding of the Constitution of Guyana and by virtue, the March 22, 2019 ruling of the Court of Appeal on the December 21, 2018 Motion of No Confidence, which was brought against the Government.”

Meanwhile, News Room has confirmed that Clerk of the National Assembly Sherlock Issacs is yet to receive the resignation of the MPs.

Only last week, Minister Harmon had made it clear that he will attend the National Assembly and that he was not sitting “illegally” in the house.

Minister Harmon is a US citizen, while Ministers Gaskin, Greenidge and Roopnaraine are UK citizens.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.