PCL Draft: Yadram heads to Volcanoes; Rutherford opts out of contract


Cricket West Indies (CWI) on Friday conducted its player’s draft for the 2019/20 Professional Cricket League (PCL) season at the Corporate Headquarters in Antigua.

The big news from a Guyanese perspective, was former West Indies Under-19 and Guyana Jaguars batsman Bhaskar Yadram drafted as one of the two overseas players by Windward Islands Volcanoes.

The 19-year-old played two First-Class matches for Jaguars in the 2017/18 season and had a top score of 25.

Despite not being active regionally of recent, Yadram is a part of Cricket Guyana Inc (CGI) Academy and a regular face in the local Franchise League.

Yadram’s compatriot Sherfane Rutherford, who played a lone Twenty20 International for West Indies in 2018, has opted out of a contract and will operate on a ‘Pay for Play’ basis.

Sherfane Rutherford pulls for six during the third round match of the CWI Professional Cricket League between Barbados Pride and Guyana Jaguars on Saturday, January 5, 2019 at Kensington Oval
©CWI Media/Kerrie Eversley of Brooks LaTouche Photography

It is understood the 20-year-old who had a less than a gainful end to the last season was not initially listed as one of Guyana Jaguars 10 protected players ahead of the draft.

The all-rounder, who has played 17 First-Class matches to date, is an emerging white-ball talent, already picking up stints in Dubai (T10 League), Canada T20, Caribbean Premier League and most recently Indian Premier League.

Keemo Paul and Shimron Hetmyer were not retained or drafted due to having CWI contracts, however, both are available to play for Jaguars permitting no clash with West Indies commitments.

Test batsman Assad Fudadin was the other Guyanese name mentioned in the draft

Guyana Jaguars retained: Anthony Bramble, Romario Shepherd, Veerasammy Permaul, Leon Johnson, Vishaul Singh, Raymon Reifer, Clinton Pestano, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Devendra Bishoo. Drafted were Christopher Barnwell, Gudakesh Motie, Keon Joseph, Ramaal Lewis and Tevin Imlach.

Commenting on the squad, Anand Sanasie, head of Cricket Guyana Inc. (CGI), firstly explained the squad was selected under the auspices of CGI and not the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) as the High Court recently deemed all GCB Executives illegal in their position.

He further stated he is happy with the composition of the squad and looks forward to Jaguars defending their throne and winning an unprecedented sixth consecutive title.

Test batsman Assad Fudadin was the other Guyanese name mentioned in the draft; he was retained by Jamaica Scorpions.

The draft catered for 114 professional cricketers, and it was disclosed the Super50 will be played this November, followed by the Four-Day Championship commencing a month later.

Here is a look at the other franchises:

Barbados Pride: Shamarah Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Miguel Cummins, Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Chemar Holder, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Shamar Springer, Tevin Walcott, Roshon Primus, K’Jorn Ottley, Tion Webster, Kenroy Williams, Dominic Drakes

Leeward Islands: Keiran Powell, Montcin Hodge, Devon Thomas, Jamar Hamilon, Rahkeem Cornwall, Keacy Carty, Jeremiah Louis, Sheno Berridge, Damion Jacobs, Quinton Boatswain, Terance Warde, Amir Jangoo, Jason Peters, Nino Henry, Adelvin Phillip

T&T: Jeremy Solozano, Joshua Da Silva, Kyle hope, Jason Mohammed, Denesh Ramdin, Imran Khan, Khary Pierre, Bryan Charles, Anderson Phillip, Odean Smith, Daniel St. Clair, Keagan Simmons, Yannic Cariah, Isaiah Rajah, Akael Hosein

Jamaica Scorpions: Barndon King, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Aldaine Thomas, Paul Palmer Jr., Derval Green, Assad Fudadin, Nicholson Gordon, Andre McCarthy, Akim Fraser, Denis Smith, Marquino Mindley, Dennis Bulli, Christopher Lamont, Alwyn Williams

Winward Islands: Sunil Ambris, Alick Anthanaze, Roland Cato, Kirk Edwards, Kavem Hodge, Devon Smith, Shermon Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ray Jordon, Josh Thomas, Bhaskar Yadram, Larry Edward, Kenneth Dember, Desron Maloney, Dillon Douglas

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.