Zeeburg champs of Rocky Memorial T20

- Esan Griffith's 43 goes in vain for Media XI


From sixteen teams, Zeeburg Sports Club were the ones left standing with the championship trophy and winner’s purse of $200,000 when the Amerith Rai (Rocky) Memorial T20 concluded at Meten-Meer-Zorg ground Wednesday.

The champs played the entire tournament unbeaten and faced their Zone A rivals Rising Stars who they disposed of by 64 runs in front of a pack and passionate audience.

Zeeburg posted a challenging 154 led by Richardo Poloram who made an attractive 39 inclusive of two fours and four maximums.  The left-hander’s timing was exquisite and was simply a treat for the jovial atmosphere.

A strong bottom-hand meant his shots had the ball sailing into a nearby yard, even neighbours became fielders. His power brought his demise when he miss-timed a pull shot off the street-smart bowling of Shaquille Brisport.

Richardo Poloram during his attractive 39

The right arm seamer finished with 3 for 32 and had a bag of tricks with various slower balls throughout the day.

The man who did the main damage was spinner Shane Persaud with figures of 4-26. Cornelius Jaisingh added the finishing touches with 32 (4x4s; 1×6) while for National Youth cricketer Malcolm Hubbard made 22.

In response, Rising Stars crashed to 90 all out in 14.1 overs with Hubbard’s off-spin accounting for 4-24 and Travis Drake supporting with 2-9.

Captain Elroy Fernandes top-scored with 18 while Nikosie Major made 17. Rising Stars went home with $100,000.

Media XI goes down to Odyssey Transportation

Prior to the grand finale, the local Media XI battled Odyssey Transportation Services in a match which went down to the wire, only to see the Media lose by three runs.

In pursuit of 154 in 18 overs, Esan Griffith and guest player Safraz Sheriffudeen blazed the trail after captain John Ramsingh fell early into the chase.

Griffith bide time and played some languid shots in a graceful 43 (5x4s; 1×6) while Sheriffudeen rolled back the years and stroked a stylish 23 (2x4s) in a 40-run partnership which had the opposition biting their nails.

Man-of-the match for Media Fardeen Sheriffudeen collects his trophy from Nazeema Barakat-Ralph

The weather played its part and the target (128 runs) was revised to 34 runs from 24 balls, however when Sheriffudeen fell, the middle-order failed to offer any solid resistance. Griffith kept going guns blazing but he perished late in the chase with no other batsman crossing into double figures.

Seon Alleyne took 3-15 while Feroze Barakat had 2-18. They both also stared with the bat as the latter made a shot-filled 33 (6x4s) and Alleyne 31 (6x4s).   Swinging the wrecking ball was mystery leg-spinner Fardeen Sheriffudeen who took 4-21 and could have had a five-for had it not been for a simple dropped opportunity.

Esan Griffith top-scored for the Media XI with 43

Andy Makeram (2-9) and Romario Nauth (1-13) chipped in but 44 runs in extras were leaked by the Media.

The Media XI is expected to be in action soon having accepted the invitation from V-Net Communications for a T20 match in the coming weeks.  The likes of bigger hitter Keon Blades, Rajiv Bisnauth and Royston Alkins are expected to feature in a strong media team.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.