‘It is important for citizens to be recognized, even iconised’ – Chancellor as National Awards granted to 77 Guyanese


The 2019 Investiture Ceremony was held on Friday afternoon at the National Cultural Centre. Seventy-seven awardees whose names were announced on Guyana’s 49th Republic anniversary on February 23rd arrived at the venue in their best attire, flanked by family and friends, visibly proud of their achievement.

“It is important for citizens to be recognized, even iconised and rewarded for their hard work to their country,” Chancellor of the Judiciary, Yonnette Cummings- Edwards said in her statement at the start of the ceremony.

The Chancellor is also the Chair of the Advisory Council of the orders.

President David Granger and Chief Justice, Yonnette Cummings-Edwards at the Investiture ceremony (Ministry of the Presidency photo)

“National awards provide a medium for this national recognition of the remarkable contribution of our citizens,” she said.

Being an awardee herself, having received the Order of Roraima in 2017, she said that “the conferment of national awards is a national acknowledgement of the service as well as the fact that the nation is grateful for their service.”

Among the awardees are Community leaders, entrepreneurs, doctors, sports executives, social workers, teachers, public servants, police, firemen and others who would have contributed and continue to do so to the development of Guyana over the years.

The awards were given out by President David Granger who is also the Chancellor of the orders.

Mr. Granger congratulated the recipients noting that their participation in national development and their personal accomplishments are central to a country’s progress.

“Citizens whose service reflect the values – of identity, integrity and loyalty – help to make Guyana a better place. They deserve to be accorded the recognition of the state and the respect of the nation,” he said.

The awards –the Order of Service, the Disciplined Services Medal, the Military Service Medal, the Medal of Service, the Golden Arrow of Achievement and the Cacique’s Crown of Honour- the President said, embody the nation’s values.

“They are tangible tokens of the respect which a grateful nation can bestow on its worthy citizens. They express appreciation for selfless service, encourage emulation and extol success,” he said.

The Head of State noted it is the Government’s obligation to preserve the National Honours system by conferring these awards annually and unfailingly.

He has been conferring the awards annually on worthy persons since assuming office in 2015.

The President awarding some of the recipients (Ministry of the Presidency photos)

On Friday, 23 females and 54 males were awarded.

Six persons received the Disciplined Services Medal inclusive of Deputy Police Commissioner, Lyndon Alves. Two persons were awarded the Military Service Medal, 31 the Medal of Service, 36 the Golden Arrow of Achievement, and six the Cacique’s Crown of Honour.

In 2018, 96 persons were awarded while 69 were awarded in 2017.

The list of the recipients of National Awards 2019 are:

Cacique’s Crown of Honour
  • High Commissioner Frederick Hamley Case
  • Charles John Ethelwood Fung-A-Fatt, SC
  • Ambassador David Thomas Allan Hales
  • Ambassador Sheik Riyad David Insanally
  • Ambassador Abdool Halim Majeed
  • Monsignor Terrence Montrose
Golden Arrow of Achievement
  • Vincent Luther Alexander
  • O’Donna Frances Allsopp
  • Lorene Evadney Pamela Baird
  • Ruth Benjamin-Huntley
  • Calvin Benn
  • Leslie Thomas Black
  • William Andrew Boyle
  • Negla Helena Brandis
  • Paul Andrew Carto
  • Rudolph Othneil Cummings
  • Phillip Nessie Bryan Da Silva
  • Patrick Reginald Anthony Farnum
  • Egbert Harold Field
  • Nicholas Fredericks
  • Malcolm Jacob Jawaharlal Harripaul
  • Vincent Patrick Henry
  • Dickson Augustus Hooper
  • Leon Rayon Johnson
  • Kalam Azad Juman-Yassin
  • Patrice Desireé Ann La Fleur
  • Carl Chetwyn Lashley
  • Derrick Fitzpatrick Lawrence
  • Lawrence Hilary London
  • Julia Anne Mansell
  • Suresh Narine
  • Christopher Anthony Nascimento
  • Lurlene Anita Nestor
  • Maxine Patricia Parris-Aaron
  • Rajendra Persaud
  • Eric McLauren Phillips
  • Sandra Kumarie Shivdat
  • Professor Gomathinayagam Subramanian
  • Morris Wilson
  • Geneveive Whyte-Nedd
  • Garfield Ian Colin Wiltshire
  • William Henry Woolford
Medal of Service
  • Shameeza Baksh
  • Tarramattie Persaud Barker
  • Roxanne Marilyn Barratt
  • Rosemary Nicola Benjamin-Noble
  • Donna Annastatia Bowman
  • John Randolph Massiah Critchlow
  • Jean Marionetta Dorsett
  • Hilbert Gardiner Foster
  • Gloria Dawn Garraway
  • Lawrence Llewlyn Griffith
  • Soyinka Ameygo Grogan
  • Claudette Anne Patricia Heyliger-Thomas
  • Suresh Jagmohan
  • Parmeshwar Jagmohan
  • Ian Jardine
  • Bibi Fazeela Khan
  • Nizam Kassim
  • Gordon Hubert Kingston
  • Kumar Lalbachan
  • Peter George Lewis
  • Nazrudeen Mohamed
  • Terrence Anthony Poole
  • Leslie Chrispen Ramalho
  • Harripersaud Ramsewack
  • Petal Elizabeth Ridley
  • Gail Patricia Robinson
  • Ramkarran Roopchan
  • James Rotry Sampson
  • Komal Singh
  • Zohora Singh
  • Fitzroy Egerton Younge
Military Service Medal
  • Lieutenant Colonel Courtney Arthur Byrne
Disciplined Services Medal
  • Deputy Commissioner Lyndon Lancelot Alves
  • Assistant Commissioner Paul Handel Anthony Langevine
  • Divisional Officer Compton Anthony Sparman
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.