Teni Housty is new Bar Association President


Attorney-at-law, Teni Housty has been elected the new President of the Bar Association of Guyana for the fiscal year 2019-2020.

The Bar Association held its Annual General Meeting on May 31, 2019, in Court 1 of the Victoria Law Courts, Georgetown.

According to a statement from the association, this marks Mr. Housty’s third term as President of the association, having previously served two consecutive terms from 2008-2010. In addition to President, he has served in varying capacities in the Bar Council of the association since 1999.

Mr. Housty was admitted to the Bar in 1996 and is a member of the Chambers of Fraser & Housty

Outgoing President, Mr. Kamal Ramkarran, having just completed two consecutive terms (2017-2019) was ineligible for re-election by the Rules of the Association. He was elected unopposed to the post of Vice-President.

Mr. Robin Stoby, S.C. was also elected as Vice-President.

Ms. Pauline Chase was unanimously elected as Secretary for the third consecutive term.

Mr. Keoma Griffith was elected as Assistant Secretary for the second consecutive term and Mr. Siand Dhurjon as Treasurer.

Mr. Rafiq Khan, S.C., Mr. Rajendra Poonai, S.C., Ms. Jamela Ali, Mr. Sanjeev Datadin, Mr. Arudranauth Gossai and Ms. Alanna Lall were all elected to serve as Council Members on the remaining six seats on the Bar Council, the executive of the association.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.