GFF-KFC U-20 National Playoff games finalised


Fifteen teams would this weekend commence the battle for supremacy in the Guyana Football Federation’s KFC-sponsored Under-20 Independence Cup National Playoff.

Following the completion of the various intra-association competitions last weekend, the respective champions and runners-up advanced to the National Playoff.

Those teams were duly recognised on Tuesday, following which the official draw took place at KFC Corporate Office on Vlissengen Road, Georgetown.

After the champions and runners-up of the various associations were presented with their trophies, it was down to the draw to determine the head-to-head clashes for this weekend.

The intra-association champions are Botofago FC (Upper Demerara), Pouderoyen FC (West Demerara), Buxton United (East Coast Demerara), New Amsterdam United (Berbice Football Association), Timehri Panthers (East Bank Football Association), Potaro Strikers (Bartica Football Association), Queenstown United (Essequibo Football Association) and Strikers FC (Rupununi Football Association).

The draw was conducted by Competitions Director of the Guyana Football Federation, Ian Alves, in the presence of players and team representatives.

Alves explained that each of the teams is allowed three guest players during this phase of the competition; the players must however, be from within the Regional Member Association.

Executive Member of the Guyana Football Federation, Dion Inniss, in offering congratulations to the teams for making it this far, lauded KFC Guyana for aiding the process of development through their corporate alliance with the Federation.

In what is basically a Round of 15 this weekend, Timehri Panthers will take on Soesdyke Falcons, New Amsterdam United will face Amelia’s Ward Panthers, Botofago will challenge Den Amstel, Potaro Strikers will take on Dynamic FC, Fruta Conquerors will battle Cougars, Buxton will confront Queenstown United and Pouderoyen will tackle Santos FC.

Rupununi Strikers have drawn the bye for this round and will face the winner of the Pouderoyen/Santos clash in the quarter-final.

All matches would be played at the Guyana Football Federation’s National Training Centre at Providence, East Bank Demerara, with the grand final set for July 1.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.