Ramjattan elected Leader; Trotman Chairman of AFC


Delegates at the Alliance For Change (AFC) National Conference on Saturday elected Khemraj Ramjattan as Leader of the Party while Raphael Trotman has been elected as the Chairman unopposed.

The announcement was made by AFC Member Sherod Duncan on Facebook.

Duncan also revealed on Facebook that Cathy Hughes and David Patterson declined the nominations for the AFC Leadership.

Hughes earlier on Saturday told reporters that she is happy to serve in any capacity at the AFC.

Raphael Trotman is the Chairman of the AFC

Prior to Saturday’s elections, Ramjattan had served as Chairman and Trotman as Leader.

Hundreds of delegates gathered at the St Paul’s Retreat Centre at Vryheid’s Lust, East Coast Demerara for the National Conference and Elections of the AFC.

Of utmost importance and contention is the Prime Ministerial candidacy, currently held by Moses Nagamootoo.

A motion is slated to be discussed at the one-day conference challenging Nagamootoo for the post; it is believed that most delegates are in favour of Ramjattan to be elected the country’s next Prime Ministerial candidate.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.