KFC Football: Conquerors, Panthers and Buxton storm into quarter-finals


The last eight have been decided in the KFC Independence National Under-20 Football tournament, with Fruta Conquerors, along with Timehri Panthers and Buxton United, producing the most telling performances in the Round-of-16 held over the weekend at the National Training Centre at Providence.

Conquerors crushed Cougars 8-0, led by Nicholas McArthur with a helmet-trick. Reshaun Ritch, Simeon Hackett, Nicolai Andrews and Leon Richardson were also on the score sheet.

Soesdyke Falcons were the victims of well-rounded game by Panthers, losing 1-5. Goals came from Tyrone Khan (14th), Shawn Stelle (20th), Tryone Burnette (47th), Shoron James (66th) and Shanon Samnauth (70th), while Jonathan Bailey netted in the 45th for the opposition.

Botofago FC of Linden came from one goal down to beat Den Amstel FC of West Demerara 4-2. Anthony Benn scored for the West Demerara unit in the 40th and 80th minutes, but strikes from Andre Mayers (45th), (52nd), (64th) and (90+2) delivered the comeback.

Led by a double from John Gonsalves, Dynamic FC of East Coast Demerara sounded a stern warning to their rivals with a 5-0 drubbing of Potaro Strikers of Bartica.

An intense battle between New Amsterdam United FC and Amelia’s Ward FC of Linden ended with the former prevailing 1-0 thanks to Keon Williams in the 47th.

Buxton United matched Conquerors’ eight goals in their 8-2 victory over Queenstown United. The first half of the game finished 3-2 and promised to be an exciting affair, but the second half was completely dominated by Buxton.

Kifambo Goodman (7th), Jemar Harrigan (32nd), Troni Semple (45+2’ & 88th), Jerome Harrigan (48th), Kobe Durant (67th & 85th) and Omari Glasgow (89th) were the scorers.

Likewise, Santos’ knocked out West Demerara’s Pouderoyen FC via a comfortable 3-1 victory. Ronaldo Rodrigues (5th), Ryan Dowding (33rd) and Randy Roberts (47th) successfully converted for the winners, while Stephon Jupiter scored in the 47th for the losing side.

Panthers will face Botofago, and Dynamic FC will come up against Amelia’s Ward in the first set of quarter-finals, followed by Conquerors against Buxton United and Santos versus Strikers FC, who drew a bye in the Round-of-16.

The quarter-finals will be held this Saturday and Sunday. First place will cop $500,000, second $300,000, third $200,000 and fourth a trophy.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.