Pandit Ravi wins Crown Eco golf tournament


Veteran golfer Rabindranath ‘Pandit Ravi’ Persaud outshone his competitors in the Crown Mining sponsored golf tournament last weekend at the Lusignan Golf Course.

Battling against a full field of golfers, Persaud emerged champion of the one-day competition, which was sponsored under the company’s Crown Eco line of products.

Playing in the 10-18 Flight, a group with other veterans Deoram Dinanath and Kassim Khan and rookie Jeremy Fernandes, Pandit Ravi’s performance was outstanding as the other veterans in his group also placed in the winners’ row.

Persaud had the best scores of 63/18, followed by Dinanath (65/18). Some 11 golfers were bunched in a scoring range between 67 and 73 strokes, indicating that fierce competition can be expected in the coming weeks.

In that group were Satrohan Tiwari (67/18); Shanella London (68/15); Parmanand Persaud (70/12); Bridgelall Harry (70/16); Lekhnarine Shivraj (70/16); William Walker (71/12); Brian Glasford (71/17); Hilbert Shields (72/16); Bholawram Deo (72/18); Pur Persaud (73/15); and Ian Gouveia (73/15).

The top performers share a moment with officials of Crown Mining (Crown Eco)

As expected, in the run up to the Guyana Open in late October 2019, golfers are showing marked improvement in their performances each week.

In the ‘A’ or 0-9 Flight, the winner was Patrick Prashad (67/9), pipping Kassim Khan (68/9). Other notable performances came from Mike Mangal (70/9); reigning Guyana Open champion, Avinash Persaud (71/2); Club President, Aleem Hussain (73/9) and veteran golfer Alfred Mentore (73/9).

Prashad, the former Club Captain, has been in the winners’ row in almost every tournament since the year began. His enviable performance will be a target for those in his group as the weeks go by.

In the ‘C’ or 19 – 28 Flight, Maxim Mangra (71/19) emerged champion, with his closest rival being Pope-Emanuel London (72/20). Good performances also came from Guillermo Escarraga (74/22); Miguel Oviedo (74/28); Carlos Adams (82/26); Brian Hackett (83/21); Mario Acuna (87/28); and Eureka Giddings (87/28).

Nearest-to-the-Pin was won by Shanella London, and the Longest Drive prize went to Avinash Persaud. Avinash Persaud also had the Best Gross of 73, while Pandit Ravi had the Best Net of 63.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.