CPL standouts King and Walsh Jr. get West Indies call-up


Hero CPL 2019 standouts Brandon King and Hayden Walsh Jr. have been called up by the West Indies Selection Panel to be part of the West Indies ODI and T20 squads for the upcoming tour to Afghanistan.

Opener King, who played for losing finalist Guyana Amazon Warriors, emerged as the leading runscorer with 496 runs, while leg-spinner Walsh Jr. played a big part in Barbados Tridents winning the title, claiming a tournament-high 22 wickets.

King also cracked the tournament’s highest individual score, a brilliant 132 not out, and had the most sixes (32) in 2019, while Walsh Jr. claimed a career-best 5-19, the best bowling figures in this year’s competition.

Making a return to the T20 squad are opener Lendl Simmons, who made 430 runs for Trinbago Knight Riders, and his franchise mate, wicketkeeper/batsman Denesh Ramdin.

Notably absent from the limited over squads are Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine and Carlos Brathwaite. There is also no place for Darren Bravo in any of the squads.

Meanwhile, Guyanese batsman Shimron Hetmyer, Antiguan Alzarri Joseph and CPL-winning captain Jason Holder are the only players to make all three squads.

West Indies T20I Squad v Afghanistan: Kieron Pollard- Captain, Nicholas Pooran, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Holder, Lendl Simmons, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams and Alzarri Joseph.

West Indies ODI Squad v Afghanistan: Kieron Pollard – Captain, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd and Alzarri Joseph.

West Indies Test Squad v Afghanistan: Jason Holder – Captain, Kraigg Brathwaite, John Campbell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Jomel Warrican, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Shamarh Brooks, Sunil Ambris, Alzarri Joseph and Keemo Paul.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.